Assessment of the EFEO-FEMC’s manuscript classification method

With the benefit of hindsight and acquired experience, which by definition the EFEO-FEMC team did not have at the start of its mission, the weaknesses of this classification are clearly seen. Notwithstanding, the authenticity with which it reflects the original conceptions of learned Khmers seems nevertheless more advantageous than any harm that might result from its shortcomings.

The most obvious and interesting of these original Khmer conceptions is seen in their putting the two genres of “Traditional accounts” (V.1) and “Texts for meditation” (V. 3) into the “Traditional texts” group. Although they are part of Cambodia’s Buddhist literature, texts falling into these two genres were classified systematically by the Khmers as separate from those of the “Texts for preaching” (III.1 to III.6). This was done on purpose, based on the fundamental difference in the mode of transmission of the texts of both groups. Indeed, works belonging to the six “Texts for preaching” genres feature an open instruction, socially organized in monasteries, notably during preaching rituals conducted in public by monks.

Évaluation du classement des manuscrits mis en œuvre par l’EFEO-FEMCIn the Khmer vocabulary, all of this literature is the /beydok/ (piṭaka), however distant may be the relationship of the texts in question with the true Pāli canon of the “Three Baskets” (traipiṭaka). On the other hand, texts identified as “traditional” pertain to an initiatory instruction inducing the practice of rituals, organized in the narrow and always personal framework of the unique relationship between a master and a disciple. Although the texts pertaining to this type of instruction (V.1 and V.3) deal with strictly Buddhist beliefs and practices, they are never included in the corpus that makes up the /beydok/.

Another oddity that appears in this classification has to do with the classifying under the “Classic novels” genre (II.1) of a number of texts that are obviously Khmer renderings of certain jātaka (“accounts of one of the past lives of the Buddha”) originating from large informal collections of Southeast Asia, such as the “Fifty Past Lives of the Buddha” (Paññasajātaka), or the “Five Hundred¬—to Five Hundred and Fifty—Past Lives of the Buddha” (hā ray jāti). By thus restricting the jātaka group (III.5) to accounts of the “Last Ten Past Lives of the Buddha,” making up the Dassajātaka to the exclusion of all the others, the EFEO-FEMC team members were simply reflecting a distinction actually practiced by the monks in Cambodia. Indeed, Khmer monks never preach from the pulpit any jātaka other than those from the Dassajātaka, leaving it up to defrocked monks, generally the pagoda ācāry, to recite in imitation of them the jātaka from the other collections, always outside of the vihāra.

A manifest weakness of the classification implemented by the EFEO-FEMC is the rather vague nature of the “Doctrinal texts” (III.1) group that are only defined by default. This rather imprecise genre actually includes books pertaining to the open instruction in Buddhism given in the monasteries, but not part of the more clearly defined categories (III.2 to III.6). This lack of precision is revealing inasmuch as, having never been studied by western scholars and never being read anymore by Khmer Buddhists, most of these doctrinal texts are viewed as obsolete and therefore uninteresting and ignored. Only their description will make it possible to propose a classification according to more fine-tuned criteria, but virtually the entire task remains to be done.

All the same, it is good to point out that some of the literary genres used in this system of textual classification are practically unrepresented in Cambodia’s monastic libraries. This is the case, for instance, of the “biographies” (jīv pravatti) of which just one copy has been found in the libraries catalogued to date.

Évaluation du classement des manuscrits mis en oeuvre par l’EFEO-FEMC

Avec le recul et l’expérience acquise, que par définition l'équipe de l'EFEO-FEMC ne possédait pas au début de sa mission, les faiblesses de cette classification apparaissent clairement ; l’authenticité avec laquelle elle représente les conceptions originales des lettrés khmers semble pourtant plus avantageuse que ne sont préjudiciables ses défauts.

Le trait le plus manifeste et le plus intéressant de ces conceptions originales des Khmers tient au regroupement dans le groupe des « Textes traditionnels », des deux genres que constituent les « récits traditionnels » (V. 1) et les « textes de méditation » (V. 3). Bien qu’ils fassent partie intégrante de la littérature bouddhique du Cambodge, les textes réunis dans ces deux genres sont classés systématiquement par les Khmers à l’écart ceux qui constituent le groupe des « Textes de prédication » (III. 1 à III. 6). Cette discrimination n’est pas accidentelle : elle repose sur la différence fondamentale du mode de transmission des textes de l’un et de l’autre groupe. En effet, les ouvrages appartenant aux six genres des « Textes de prédication » correspondent à un enseignement ouvert, socialement organisé dans le cadre des monastères, notamment lors des rituels de prédication accomplis en public par les religieux.

Évaluation du classement des manuscrits mis en œuvre par l’EFEO-FEMC

Dans le vocabulaire des khmers, l’ensemble de cette littérature constitue le /beydok/ (pi†aka), quelque distante que puisse être la relation des textes en question avec le véritable canon pæli des « Trois Corbeilles » (traipi†aka). Par opposition, les textes qualifiés de « traditionnels » ressortissent à un enseignement initiatique induisant la pratique de rituels, organisé dans le cadre étroit et toujours personnel de la relation unique qui unit un maître à un disciple. Bien que les textes ressortissant à ce type d'ensei¬gnement (V.1 et V.3) véhiculent des croyances et des pratiques strictement boud¬dhiques, ils ne sont jamais inclus dans le corpus constituant le /beydok/.

Une autre curiosité apparue dans cette classification tient au rejet dans le genre des « romans classiques » (II. 1) d’un certain nombre de textes qui sont manifestement les leçons khmères de certains jætaja (« récits de l’une des vies antérieures du Buddha ») issus de grandes collections familières de l’Asie du Sud-Est, comme celle des « Cinquante vies antérieures du Buddha » (Paññasajætaka), ou encore celle des « Cinq cents – voire cinq cents cinquante – vies antérieures du Buddha » (hæ ray jæti). En restreignant, ce faisant, le groupe des jætaka (III. 5) aux récits des « Dix dernières vies antérieures du Buddha » qui constituent le Dassajætaka à l’exclusion de tous les autres, les collaborateurs de l'EFEO-FEMC n’ont fait que traduire une discrimination effectivement pratiquée par les religieux du Cambodge : en effet, jamais les moines khmers ne prêchent en chaire d’autre jætaka que ceux qui sont issus du Dassajætaka, laissant aux religieux défroqués que sont généralement les æcæry des pagodes, le soin de réciter en les mimant les jætaka issus des autres collections, toujours à l’extérieur du vihæra.

Une faiblesse manifeste de la classification mise en œuvre par l’EFEO-FEMC tient au caractère assez vague du groupe des « textes de doctrine » (III.1) qui ne se définissent que par défaut. Ce genre passablement imprécis regroupe, en effet, des ouvrages ressortissant bien à l’enseignement ouvert du bouddhisme dispensé dans les monastères, mais ne faisant pas partie de catégories mieux définies (III. 2 à III. 6). Ce défaut de précision est révélateur du fait que, n’ayant jamais été étudiés par les savants occidentaux et n’étant plus jamais lus par les bouddhistes khmers, la plupart de ces textes de doctrine sont passés de la désuétude à l'indifférence et à l'oubli. Leur description seule permettra de proposer classement selon des critères plus affinés, mais elle demeure presque entièrement à faire.

Il convient, au demeurant, de signaler que certains des genres littéraires signalés dans ce système de classification des textes, ne sont pratiquement pas représentés dans les bibliothèques monastiques du Cambodge. C'est le cas, par exemple, des «biographies» (j‚v pravatti) dont un seul exemple a été retrouvée dans les bibliothèques inventoriées à ce jour.